12 areas of Devon have had no covid deaths

But number is high in Exeter

A third of the neighbourhoods in England and Wales that have not recorded a single covid death are in Devon, latest figures from the Office for National Statistics show.

Only 36 of more than 7,000 postcode areas have not yet had any deaths related to coronavirus, of which 12 of them are in Devon.

No one has died with covid in three areas of North Devon and Teignbridge, two in the South Hams, and one in Plymouth, East Devon, Torridge and West Devon, up to the end of January 2021.

The areas are:
Dunkeswell, Upottery & Stockland, East Devon
Illfracombe East, North Devon
Barnstable Sticklepath, North Devon
Fremington & Instow, North Devon
Wembury, Brixton & Newton Ferrers, South Hams
Salcombe, Malborough & Thurlstone, South Hams
Tedburn, Shillingford & Higher Ashton, Teignbridge
Heathfield & Liverton, Teignbridge
Teignmouth North, Teignbridge
Great Torrington, Torridge
Bere Alston, Buckland Monachorum & Yelverton, West Devon and Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth

Preston and Shorton in Torbay, South Brent & Cornwood and Dartmouth in the South Hams, Newton Abbot Town Centre in Teignbridge, and Hartland Coast in Torridge didn’t see any deaths in 2020, but did record at least one death in January 2021.

Postcode areas with most covid-related deaths in Devon are:

Torbay – Wellswood (24)

East Devon – Exmouth Littleham (21)

Exeter – St Thomas West (22)

Mid Devon – Cullompton (10)

Plymouth – Plympton St Mary and Plymstock Elburton (13)

South Hams – South Brent & Cornwood (13)

Teignbridge – Moretonhampstead, Lustleigh & East Dartmoor (12)

Torridge – Holsworthy, Bradworthy & Welcombe (13)

North Devon – Barnstaple Pilton (9)

West Devon – Tavistock (7)

Areas with the most covid deaths in January 2021:

Torbay – Wellswood (12)

East Devon – Exmouth Littleham (11)

Exeter – Alphington & Marsh Barton (9)

South Hams – South Brent & Cornwood (13)

Teignbridge – Ogwell, Mile End & Teigngrace (10)

Plymouth  – Plympton St Mary (6)

Mid Devon – Cullompton (5)

North Devon – Barnstaple Pilton, and Lynton & Combe Martin (2)

Torridge – Bideford South & East and Holsworthy, Bradworthy & Welcombe (2)

West Devon – Tavistock and Okehampton (2)

Radio Exe: Local News